IP Address Forward

Hello,

So I have been using EasyEngine for a few WordPress websites and it is great. I am a rookie though when it comes to Nginx. I have searched around but have not found anything that solves my issue. A lot of resources are building a Nginx setup from scratch and the forum here I was not able to find a answer. So here it goes:

So my website is up and running and everything works great but when I visit the IP address I get the “Welcome to Nginx” screen. I wish to have the ip address direct to the domain name and show the website. It is on Digital Ocean and it is a single website on the droplet so I just wish for it to direct to the domain name. I have tried to add a server block in the /etc/nginx/nginx.conf file as well as to the /etc/nginx/sites-available/mydomain.com file. I have tried various solutions I have found and I always get an error.

Here are some errors I have received: Reload : nginx [Failed] service nginx reload failed. check issues with nginx -t command

Job for nginx.service failed because the control process exited with error code. See “systemctl status nginx.service” and “journalctl -xe” for details.

If anyone can help this rookie out, I will highly appreciate it!

Thank you

Whats the output of “systemctl status nginx.service” and “journalctl -xe” ?

vim /etc/nginx/sites-available/default

Locate a block with location / { ... }, comment everything in it and place in it:

return 301 $scheme://domain.com$request_uri;

Then test the configuration and if no errors reload Nginx:

nginx -t && service nginx reload

This probably will solve your problem.

You are welcome. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Actually, what matters here is the output of nginx -t.

@portofacil, brilliant!

@ggloveswp, I was getting ready to reply to you but what @portofacil recommended worked.